Vista strikes again (video card problems)

I can’t believe the deficiencies that Vista has with my video card. When I routinely try to do my DJing gig on Second Life, I have to run Second Life + Winamp/Shoutcast. Now this is ridiculous, because eventually, my windows (and screen) looks like the following:

Now… my explorer bar RELOCATES to the top of the screen, when actually, it still only responds when I try to navigate it as if it were on the bottom. Whenever I maximize/minimize the windows, some appear transparent. Add on to this that the screen flickers back and forth, and you only end up with an extreme eyesore.

I’ve tried the following:

1) Reinstalling/updating the video drivers.
2) Running Vista in safe mode.
3) Closing everything else that runs in the background.

After a bit of research, I noticed that the video card that my computer was equipped with is a weird one… the nVidia GeForce 6150. I went to some universal driver websites only to find one or two drivers tops for this card. I was always considering downgrading to Windows XP, but what if the same problems exist alongside those drivers…? nVidia isn’t giving us enough support here, what are we supposed to do?

In part, this is a cry for help, but I’m not going to stop trying to figure out what’s wrong.

~ by exinor on August 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
